1. IEEE Leon K. Kirchmayer Graduate Teaching Award, 2017.
  2. IS&T Raymond C. Bowman Award, 2016.
  3. IEEE Circuits and Systems Society John Choma Education Award, 2016.
  4. IEEE Computer Society Taylor L. Booth Education Award, 2016.
  5. USC Associates Award for Excellence in Teaching, 2016.
  6. Orange County Engineering Council (OCEC) Outstanding Engineering Educator Award, 2015.
  7. Northrop Grumman Excellence in Teaching Award (awarded by USC Viterbi School of Engineering), 2014
  8. Best Paper Award, ACM SIGSPATIAL International Workshop on Crowdsourced and Volunteered Geographic Information (CEOCROWD), Dallas, Texas, USA, November 4, 2014.
    Sanjay Purushotham, Junaith Shahabdeen, Lama Nachman and C.-C. Jay Kuo, “Collaborative group-activity recommendation in location-based social networks,”
  9. USC Mellon Faculty Mentoring Graduate Students Award (awarded by USC Mellon Mentoring Forum), 2014
  10. Dean’s Professor in Electrical Engineering-Systems (awarded by USC), 2014
  11. Editor Emeritus Award (awarded by Elsevier Publisher), 2011
  12. Pan Wen-Yuan Outstanding Research Award (awarded by the Pan Wen-Yuan Foundation), 2011
  13. Fulbright-Nokia Distinguished Chair in Information and Communications Technologies (awarded by the Fulbright program and the Nokia Foundation), 2010-2011
  14. PhD Thesis Advisor of the Best Dissertation Award – Best Experimental Work, the USC Viterbi School of Engineering, 2010. Jonghye Woo, “Variational Techniques for Cardiac Image Analysis: Algorithms and Applications
  15. Electronic Imaging Scientist of the Year Award, January 2010 (awarded by IS&T and SPIE), 2010
  16. Okawa Foundation Research Award, 2007
  17. Best Paper Award, IEEE International Conference on Intelligent Information Hiding and Multimedia Signal Processing (IIH-MSP), 2006. Yongjin Cho, Do-Kyoung Kwon, C.-C. Jay Kuo, Renxiang Huang, Claudio Lima, Jim D. Black and James J. Pan, “Video streaming over 3G networks with GOP-based priority scheduling,” Pasadena, California, USA, December 18-20, 2006.
  18. Best Student Paper Award, IEEE Vehicular Technology Conference (VTC), 2006. Man-On Pun, Michele Morelli and C.-C. Jay Kuo, “Iterative equalization and decoding for unsynchronized OFDMA uplink transmissions,” IEEE Vehicular Technology Conference (VTC 2006-F), Montreal, Canada, September 25-28, 2006
  19. USC Mellon Award for Excellence in Mentoring, 2006
  20. IEEE Signal Processing Society Distinguished Lecturer, 2006
  21. Best Paper Award in Multimedia Communications – IEEE Communication Society, 2004. Wuttipong Kumwilaisak, Thomas Hou, Qian Zhang, Wenwu Zhu, C.-C. Jay Kuo and Ya-Qin Zhang, “A cross-layer quality of service mapping architecture for video delivery in wireless networks,” IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications, Vol. 21, No. 10, pp. 1685-1698, December 2003.
  22. USC, Viterbi School of Engineering, Northrop Junior Faculty Research Award, 1994
  23. NSF Presidential Faculty Fellow (PFF) Award, 1993
  24. NSF Young Investigator (NYI) Award, 1992
  25. NSF Research Initiation Award, 1990

Honorary Professorship

  1. Honorary Chair Professor, National Chiao-Tung University, March 5, 2012.
  2. Honorary Chair Professor, National Taiwan University of Science and Technology, January 25, 2011.


  1. Fellow of IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Membership No. 04869269, 1999)
  2. Fellow of SPIE (The International Society for Optical Engineering, 1996)
  3. Fellow of AAAS (American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2011)
  4. ACM (Association for Computing Machinery)
  5. SIAM (Society of Industrial and Applied Mathematics)
  6. APSIPA (Asian Pacific Signal and Information Processing Association)