The 2nd Ph.D. alumnus of MCL, Professor Kyoung Mu Lee of Seoul National University (SNU), has been appointed as the Editor-in-Chief (EiC) of the prestigious IEEE Transactions on Pattern Analysis and Machine Intelligence (TPAMI) from 2022 to 2024. TPAMI publishes articles on areas of computer vision and image understanding, all traditional areas of pattern analysis and recognition, and selected areas of machine intelligence. It is one of the premier journals in all of computer science. Its excellence, combined with its focus on computer vision and machine learning, positions it as one of IEEE’s flagship journals. Its impact factor is 16.39 in 2020.

Kyoung Mu Lee received his Ph. D. degree from the University of Southern California in 1993. He is currently a professor in the department of ECE and the director of the Interdisciplinary Graduate Program in Artificial Intelligence at Seoul National University (SNU). His primary research areas are Computer Vision and Machine Learning. He has served as an Editorial board member of many journals, including an Associate Editor in Chief (AEiC) of the IEEE TPAMI, Area Editor of the Computer Vision and Image Understanding (CVIU), and Associate Editor (AE) of the IEEE TPAMI, the Machine Vision Application (MVA), the IPSJ Transactions on Computer Vision and Applications (CVA), and the IEEE Signal Processing Letter. He is an Advisory Board Member of the Computer Vision Foundation (CVF) and an Editorial Advisory Board Member for Academic Press/Elsevier. He has served as a General co-Chair of the prestigious ICCV2019, ACM MM2018, ACCV2018, and an Area Chair of CVPR, ICCV, and ECCV many times. He was a Distinguished Lecturer of the Asia-Pacific Signal and Information Processing Association (APSIPA) for 2012-2013. He is currently serving as the president of the Korean Computer Vision Society (KCVS). He received many awards, in particular, the Medal of Merit and the Scientist of Engineers of the Month Award from the Korean Government, the Excellence in Research Award and the Great Processor Award from SNU, MSRA Grant Award, the Most Influential Paper over the Decade Award by the IAPR MVA, the Okawa Foundation Research Grant Award. He is an IEEE Fellow and a member of the Korean Academy of Science and Technology (KAST).